Gambhir dropped, Dhawan, Harbhajan included in India Squad for Australia Test Series

Gautam Gambhir was dropped for the 1st  two Test matches against Australia at the same time as Shikhar Dhawan and Murali Vijay were named in the 15 man India  squad. 

Apart from Dhawan, he  received his first  Test call up, Uttar Pradesh fast bowler  Bhuvneshwar Kumar was satisfied for his good quality presentation in the recent limited over matches  against Pakistan and England with a place in the Indian Test side for the first time. 

Gambhir, who was dropped  after a sequence of poor performances, will now skipper the India A side in the 3 day practice match against Australia on February 16. 

Virender Sehwag, who has been specified an extended run, might play in the middle order in case India make a decision to open with Vijay and Dhawan while Ajinkya Rahane and Ravindra Jadeja will also be vying for a place in the middle order. 

Harbhajan Singh,  was left out  for the third and fourth Tests against England, makes his way back to the Indian team while Piyush Chawla does not get a place. R Ashwin and Pragyan Ojha are the other spinners in the line up. 

Indian Test  squad : 

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (skipper and wicket-keeper), Virender Sehwag, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Ashok Dinda, Murali Vijay, Ishant Sharma.

No comments:

Post a Comment