Brisbane Heat wins Big Bash League T20 2013 Title

The Brisbane Heat are the new champions of Australian Twenty20 cricket after defeated  the Perth Scorchers by 34 runs in  Big Bash League  final at the WACA Ground.

Chasing 168 runs  for victory, the Perth Scorchers were restricted to 9 for 133, with dangerman Shaun Marsh out  for just 16 off 24 balls. TheBrisbane  Heat only booked their place in the BBL finals with an upset win over Hobart Hurricanes  in the last round of the season.

Joe Burns (43 from  27 balls) top scorer for the Brisbane Heat in their total of 5 for 167, while Dan Christian (37 from  21) provided some vital big hits at the tail-end of their innings. And even if Brisbane opener Pomersbach couldn't get close to repeating his recent heroics, he still managed 37 runs from  38 balls to get the Brisbane Heat off to a hard start.

The Brisbane Heat's bowlers then backed up the efforts, with West Indies paceman Kemar Roach (3 for 18 off his four overs) and spinner Nathan Hauritz (0 for 11) grinding down the Perth Scorchers early, before Ben Cutting snared the crucial scalp of Marsh. Adam Voges (49 from  32 balls) and Marcus North scored 24  looked promising in patches.

No comments:

Post a Comment