Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 16 runs to qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 2012 Finals

Sri Lankan Spinners Rangana Herath and Ajantha Mendis take five wickets as Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 16 runs on Thursday to reach the ICC World Twenty20 2012 final.

Rangana Herath take 3 for 25 and Mendis got 2 for 27 helped to restrict Pakistan to 123 for 7 in 20 overs after Sri Lanka posted 139/4 in 20 overs.

Mohammad Hafeez top scorer for Pakistan with 42 runs. The other Semifinal between Australia and West Indies on Friday.

Brief Scorecard:

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first

Sri Lanka 139/4 (20)
Mahela Jayawardene 42, Tilakratne Dilshan 35

Pakistan 123/7 (20)
Mohammad Hafeez 42, Umar Akmal 29*, Imran Nasir 20
Rangana Herath 3-25, Ajantha Mendis 2-27, Angelo Mathews 2-27

Sri Lanka won by 16 runs. Mahela Jayawardene got the Man of the Match Award. Sri Lanka will take on Australia or West Indies in Sunday's final game.

No comments:

Post a Comment