Clarke bags Allan Border Medal

Australian skipper Michael Clarke's spectacular batting in 2012 proved impossible to ignore and he duly won the Allan Border Medal and Australia's Test Player of the Year award in Melbourne on Sunday. This was the second year in a row that Michael Clarke claimed the top two awards in Australian cricket.

 Scoring  1080 runs at an average of  77.14 during the voting period from February 25, 2012 to January 28 this year the awards were impossible not to win for Michael Clarke. He take the Allan Border Medal with 198 votes to Shane Watson and Michael Hussey's combined 165 to become the second man after Ricky Ponting to win the prize four times. Michael Clarke previous take home the award in 2005, 2009 and 2012.

Michael Clarke was awarded his 2nd  Test Player of the Year award after completed  on 22 votes, with Mike Hussey on 15 and Matthew Wade on 12. He was unstoppable in 2012, with successive double centuries versus South Africa being the personal best part for Michael Clarke. The other top awards in Australian cricket were scooped by Shane Watson and Clint McKay.

No comments:

Post a Comment