New Zealand thriller win against South Africa in the first ODI

James Franklin batted brilliantly with the tail to secure a nervous one wicket upset win for New Zealand in the 1st  one day international against South Africa at Boland Park on Saturday.

James Franklin made unbeaten  47  as the final  three New Zealand wickets added 104 runs in a low-scoring match after South Africa had been all  out for 208.

Franklin  put on 35 runs  for the 8th  wicket with Nathan McCullum (24) and 47 runs  for the ninth wicket with Kyle Mills. When Kyle Mills was bowled by Ryan McLaren for 26 runs  there were still 22 runs needed but Franklin successfully farmed the strike before hitting McLaren through the covers for the winning boundary.

Faf du Plessis was the top scorer with 57 runs  as South Africa were all  out for 208 runs after being sent in to bat. Then McLaren take  4 for 46. Left-arm opening bowler Mitchell McClenaghan claimed  4 for 20 on debut as New Zealand's bowlers exerted stiff control.

McClenaghan take  the important  wickets of Graeme Smith and captain AB de Villiers and followed up with two late wickets. Du Plessis made a determined 57 runs from  71 balls. James Franklin named for the Man of the Match award for his crucial innings.

No comments:

Post a Comment