Melbourne Stars beat Sydney Thunder by 13 runs

Sydney Thunder's edition of pointlessness has been completed after the bottom of the ranking  lost its 13th straight match by 13 runs against the Melbourne Stars at the MCG on Tuesday.

The Melbourne  Stars, missing two big players  in Shane Warne and Lasith Malinga, struggled to set a total before concluding on 8 for 145 in  20 overs. After Melbounre  star import Chris Gayle put his side  in a brilliant position, the Sydney Thunder lost 9 for 70 to grasp defeat from the jaws of victory. Fast Bowler  Dirk Nannes twisted the ball of the night to dismiss dangerman Brad Hodge (39 from  26) with a ball that beat the batsman and crashed into middle stump.

The Sydney Thunder also removed David Hussey for 32 and then bowled well at the death   taking 4 wickets  for 16 runs  in the final overs   to keep the Melbourne Stars well below a par score. Chris Gayle   has been under pressure to perform after a series of failures   grabed  2 for 5 and ran out Melbourne Stars opener Luke Wright.

Chris Gayle flayed the attack to all parts of the ground, bringing up his fifty in  just 25 balls and the visitors were 1 for 59 after six overs and closing  to victory. The Melbourne Stars tightened the bowling and Bird gave his team a lift when he took a diving catch to dismiss Matt Prior for 7, leaving Sydney 2 for 62 in the 8th  over. Chris Gayle finally out  for 65 from  43 balls, holing out in the deep to Glenn Maxwell off Dimitri Mascarenhas (2 for 27).

The Sydney Thunder had been winless in seven games this Big Bash season, and the defeat now continues the franchise's 13-match streak dating back to last season. The result leads  that the Melbourne Stars (10 points) join the Melbourne Renegades (12) in the finals. The remaining places will be filled by two of the Perth Scorchers, Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes, who are separated only by net run rate going into the final round of matches.

No comments:

Post a Comment