West Indies beat Sri Lanka in the ICC World Twenty20 Final

Darren Sammy's West Indies side were lifted the new ICC World Twenty20 2012 Champions on Sunday after 36 runs victory over Sri Lanka in a Final match in Colombo.

West Indies won the elected to bat first, West Indies 137 for 6 in 20 overs. Sri Lanka was bowled out 101 in 18.4 overs. This was the first world title for the West Indies team since the World Cup won under the Clive Lloyd in 1979. This is the Sri Lanka's fourth final defeat since 2007.

Sunil Narine picked three 3 for 9 and Darren Sammy take 2 for 6 helped to restrict Sri Lanka on 101. Captain Mahela Jayawarde top scorer for Sri Lanka with 33 runs.Nuwan Kulasekar smashed 26 off 13 balls.

Earlier Sri Lankan spinner Ajanth Mendis collapse the West Indies batting line up. He removed dangerous batsman Chris Gayle on just three runs. He grabbed 4 for 12 runs. Marlon Samuels is the only man top scorer for West Indies. He was smashed huge six in Malinga over. Samuels scored 78 off 56 balls and consists of three fours and six sixes.

Marlon Samuels named as the Player of this final match. Australian All rounder Shane Watson got the Man of the Series Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment